top of page

HOME

As artists we live in a paradox. Everyday, on the way to rehearsals for HOME I would see a homeless person on the street, right outside the rehearsal door. It might be self righteous to believe art can change anything, let alone anything big, but as I listen to Amine’s “turf” and wonder how to afford housing without contributing to gentrification, I take a few minutes to pray to whoever will listen. I pray with my money. I pray with my words. I pray with my music. I pray with my actions. I pray with phone calls to local and regional representatives and I pray with my local forums.

Watching HOME, I am greeted with humor and regret, I watch a home that comes and goes preaching impermanence, questioning ownership and need and purpose of space. However, home as a metaphor is far from ephemeral. If I was to write a list starting with “Home is” and filling in the blank, it would go on for many pages. This play’s wisdom lies in the questions it leaves behind. What is the essence of a home? Whose home is this? Who gets invited in? Will it stand? For how long? Who is left out? Who does not have a home? Why?

With humanity and humor, HOME explores the implications of ownership, sharing and even losing space. What is the essence of a Home: a moniker for memories, a timeline of hope and hardship, a vessel for growing up and going out - something poetic, something mundane. This show expands upon the nostalgic tropes and unerring fantasy of living space. it examines the privilege and purpose of a home both in metaphor and reality. Who is invited in? How did we all get here?

This show was beloved by many of my friends and family. I could not be more proud or grateful to have worked with such exceptional, passionate and giving artists. I wish you all the best!!!

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/12/07/theater/home-geoff-sobelle-review.html

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page